Want a break near the Barossa Valley?

Click image to start the slideshow!

  • Front aspect and our car
Country: Australia Suburb/Town: Gawler West City: Adelaide State/Province/Region: South Australia Type of home: House Located: in a country town Bedrooms: 3 Bathrooms: 2 Sleeps: 6
Our home:

We built our home 4 years ago so it is still quite new and modern. We have all the necessary creature comforts, such as air conditioning, heating, dishwasher, internet access etc. Our garden is compact and well maintained as we have done the big-yard thing and wanted something easily maintained so that we can dedicate our life to us and not the garden. We have a big deck under cover and plenty of shade. Our neighbourhood is very quiet, only disturbed by the occasional flock of Cockatoos flying over with their cacophonous squawking. We regularly hear and see kookaburras and have an abundance of birds who visit our feeding station. Bedding arrangements are 2 x queen size beds and a double bunk, which can be set up as 2 singles all housed in 3 good sized rooms, each with built in wardrobes. The master bedroom has a large Ensuite with spa bath and a large walk-in robe. We can leave as much space as you need on the hangers, just let us know. The other bath room has a bath and separate shower. The toilet is a toilet! All the main living areas are open plan with a large well equipped kitchen, dining area, lounge area and a study/sitting room. There is a double garage housing the washing machine (no drier I am afraid) and outside washing lines. We also have a car which we can negotiate use of once the insurance is sorted out.

Home amenities

  • Airconditioning,
  • BBQ,
  • Bath,
  • Clothes Washer/Dryer,
  • Computer,
  • Dishwasher,
  • Garden-Yard,
  • Heating,
  • Internet Access,
  • Lock Up Garage,
  • Microwave,
  • Patio/Deck,
  • Security Screens,
  • Security/Doorman,
  • Sound system,
  • Spa,
  • TV/DVD
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

 

As I said, we have a quiet neighbourhood as we live right down the end of a cul-de-sac so no through traffic  - on the banks of a river (usually dry in the summer) and lined with gum trees.  We are just a stone’s throw (literally) from good walking/cycling (we have no bikes though) trails through into our local town Gawler – the closest shopping centre (takes about 20mins strolling, faster if you jog, but we just stroll!). Gawler has lots of historic charm, a street full of shops and 10 pubs, a cinema, parks with play equipment for the littlies and a Play Cafe also.  Good eateries too. We are only about 20 minutes drive away from the Barossa Valley – one of the premier wine growing districts of South Australia (home of Jacob’s Creek and Wolf Blass) with 80+ other wineries you could spend a nice afternoon in just tasting wine and eating the fantastic produce.  The wineries range from lots of glitzy souvenirs and long gourmet lunches to a pair of soothing ears and a long interesting conversation over a tasting of Red. Even without the wine the region is a beautiful picturesque drive. Adelaide is 45 minutes south, the airport about the same distance and fantastic, safe beaches also about the same distance, all with top quality cafes, shops and jetties (great for fishing - we have the rods). Adelaide is very picturesque and boasts some wonderful museums all close together, near to the shops, restaurants etc. There is also the Zoo (complete with Pandas) and some lovely riverside walks. If you drive 1 1/2hrs north you’ll get to the beginning of the Yorke Peninsula which also has lots of beaches, countryside and things to look at – great place to stay for a couple of nights. The Adelaide Hills district is close by - again more wineries and little old towns with antiques shops and quirky little things to see. For the more adventurous the Flinders Ranges are a day’s drive away but well worth the visit – lots of kangaroos, emus – you could stay on a sheep station in the middle of nowhere 100km from its nearest neighbours. There is plenty to take in without going too far though.

Local Activities

  • Art Gallery,
  • Ballooning,
  • Beach,
  • Cafes,
  • Cinema,
  • Fishing,
  • Golf,
  • Gymnasium,
  • Historical Sites,
  • Horse Racing,
  • Kids Activities,
  • Lawn Bowling,
  • Museum,
  • Parks,
  • Playing Fields,
  • Public Library,
  • Public Transport,
  • Pubs Clubs,
  • Restaurants,
  • River,
  • Shopping,
  • Swimming Pool,
  • Ten Pin Bowling,
  • Tennis,
  • Zoo

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous and non simultaneous ok Preferred start date: Negotiable Length of Swap: Any Preferred destinations: Anywhere Open to offers?: yes

Other preferences

  • Car swap negotiable,
  • Couple preferred,
  • Family preferred,
  • No pets,
  • Non smokers only
Number of travellers: 2 +2 (occasionally) Languages spoken: English
About us:

Mike and Sue. We are in our late 50s (how time flies) and are testing the water with Home Swap as an pastime to take up more seriously in a few years time. We have looked after our home and will look after yours with the same care, expecting only the same in return. Being non-smokers, we like the odd meal out, traveling to see the local sights and enjoy the comforts of home. We are quite happy to do a car swap to stay independent of unnecessary public transport. Most of our family live close by and we have good neighbours who can be called on for help and advice or can leave you alone if you wish. We are looking forward to embarking on this new adventure, see you soon?

We have already made arrangements to be away for a week in June and 3 weeks over Christmas, so are happy for a non-simultaneous swap at those times.


Contact this member

Profile ID number: 418
Listed by: Sue
To be able to contact Sue you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!