Very spacious rural Aussie home

Click image for larger picture!

Country: Australia Suburb/Town: Minlaton City: Minlaton State/Province/Region: South Australia Type of home: House Located: in a village Bedrooms: 3 Bathrooms: 2 Sleeps: 6
Our home:

Solid limestone house, totally restored in the past five years. Our house is very well insulated; the temperature can get up into the 40’s (C) in SUMMER - particularly January/February.

Entry Hall/Art Gallery leads to new  KITCHEN (19 x 11 feet) with dishwasher; micro- wave, chargrill etc.

Servery to formal lounge / dining room (12 x 33 ft = 4 x 11 metres).

3 double bedrooms. Master has an air-conditioner and ensuite and separate toilet.

The central HALL (28 ft = 9 metres) has timber fretwork.  4-metre ceilings, leadlight windows and polished floorboards throughout.

Separate Office/.computer room.

Main shower/ bathroom (claw-foot bath) and separate toilet. Laundry / utility room.

TV room with slow combustion wood fire and French doors leading to the landscaped garden.

Huge under-cover outdoor entertaining area - BBQ's, chiminea, bar fridge, water feature, sculptures. Concrete rainwater tank supplies house. Under-cover parking.

Fruit trees & lawned area.

Home amenities

  • Airconditioning,
  • BBQ,
  • Bath,
  • Bicycle,
  • Carport,
  • Clothes Washer/Dryer,
  • Computer,
  • Dishwasher,
  • Fireplace,
  • Garden-Yard,
  • Heating,
  • Internet Access,
  • Microwave,
  • Patio/Deck,
  • Sound system,
  • TV/DVD
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

Our home is right in the Main Street of a typical Aussie country town (population <1000). There’s a Bakery, Supermarket, Post Office,National Trust Museum, Cafe, a Pub & Licensed Sports Club, Hairdresser, Hardware Store, Petrol outlets, etc.

AND an excellent Tourist Centre.

At one end of Main Street, there’s a Caravan Park & an Emu & Kangaroo Park & a Memorial (housed red aeroplane) to a local flying hero. At the other end of Main Street is the Medical Centre.

Our village is a service centre for surrounding barley/wheat/sheep/ canola farmers.It is also the gateway to the ‘bottom end’ or ‘foot’ of Yorke Peninsula which projects off the coast of southern Australia and resembles a miniature Italy in shape (and climate and scenery too, in fact).

There are many excellent surf beaches and a large National Park, spectacular scenery and wildlife on the remote ‘bottom end’, attracting tourists and fishermen for most of the year.

THIS southern coast of the Peninsula faces Kangaroo Island, which is visible on a clear day. The coast around us (east and west – both 10-15 minutes drive) is excellent too with jetties from which crabs, fish and squid are caught. There are huge pristine sand-hills 10 minutes from here, rocky coves to explore, dolphins, shells, oyster farms, enormous grain silos at two small local ports, boat launching facilities and miles of deserted, sandy beaches (accessible with our 4-wheel drive).

Local Activities

  • Beach,
  • Biking,
  • Boating,
  • Cafes,
  • Canoeing,
  • Fishing,
  • Golf,
  • Gymnasium,
  • Historical Sites,
  • Horse Racing,
  • Jet Skiing,
  • Kids Activities,
  • Lawn Bowling,
  • Museum,
  • Parks,
  • Playing Fields,
  • Public Library,
  • Public Transport,
  • Pubs Clubs,
  • Rock Pools,
  • Sailing,
  • Scuba Diving,
  • Shopping,
  • Surfing,
  • Tennis,
  • Water Skiing,
  • Windsurfing

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous and non simultaneous ok Preferred start date: open Length of Swap: open Preferred destinations: Medit Europe / UK Open to offers?: yes

Other preferences

  • Car swap negotiable,
  • No pets,
  • Not Suitable for Children
Number of travellers: 2 Languages spoken: English
About us:

Both semi-retired. ASHLEY has a degree in Fine Arts majoring in sculpture, and I was a self-employed Interior Decorator in the city. I'm now a Marriage Celebrant & have just published a local history book.

WE'VE worked for several years since our 'sea-change' to Yorke Peninsula, in restoring our home to its former glory. In 2005 we enjoyed a six-month (nine house exchanges) holiday across Europe from Northern Ireland through to Malta. It was brilliant! In 2009 we did a further 7 swaps over four months, in Italy/France/Spain. We love the chance to become ‘locals’, preferring ‘off the beaten track’ (as we offer) to mass tourism.

Contact this member

Profile ID number: 354
Listed by: Heather
To be able to contact Heather you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!