Click image to start the slideshow!

  • Chicago downtown
Country: United States Suburb/Town: Lincoln Square City: Chicago State/Province/Region: Illinois Type of home: Apartment Located: in the city Bedrooms: 2 Bathrooms: 1 Sleeps: 4
Our home:

My apartment is the entire 2nd floor of a house on a quiet, residential, tree-lined street.  Very clean, beautifully decorated, and spacious--yet cozy!  Lots of books, movies, boardgames, and cookbooks for you to borrow.  WiFi throughout the apartment, though also only 1 block away from a cute cafe with free WiFi.  Free laundry in basement of house.

Home amenities

  • Bath,
  • Bicycle,
  • Clothes Washer/Dryer,
  • Computer,
  • Fans,
  • Garden-Yard,
  • Heating,
  • Internet Access,
  • Microwave,
  • TV/DVD
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

Chicago is known for its culturally diverse neighborhoods, and Lincoln Square is by far one of the best.  Very safe, lovely homes/buildings, lots of fun things to do within easy walking distance. 15-minute drive from Chicago's downtown area (the Loop), 10-minute walk in any direction to great cafes, stores, restaurants, and bars. Public library, German cultural center, Swedish American museum, and large parks just a few blocks away. Only 1/2 a block from bus stop; less than 10 minute drive to the beach (Lake Michigan).

Chicago is full of great sights and experiences: architecture, museums, blues music, improv comedy...you name it! I love this city--that's why I'm a tour guide!

Local Activities

  • Aquarium,
  • Art Gallery,
  • Beach,
  • Biking,
  • Cafes,
  • Cinema,
  • Fishing,
  • Historical Sites,
  • Ice Skating,
  • Kids Activities,
  • Lake,
  • Museum,
  • Night Clubs,
  • Parks,
  • Playing Fields,
  • Public Library,
  • Public Transport,
  • Pubs Clubs,
  • Restaurants,
  • River,
  • Sailing,
  • Shopping,
  • Ten Pin Bowling,
  • Tennis,
  • Zoo

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous and non simultaneous ok Preferred start date: beginning January 2012 Length of Swap: open (up to a month?) Preferred destinations: Austria, France (Paris), Quebec, Belgium, Italy Open to offers?: yes

Other preferences

  • Car swap negotiable,
  • No pets,
  • Non smokers only
Number of travellers: 1 (me) Languages spoken: English, French, German
About us:

I am a freelance translator who works from home the whole year, and I work as a Chicago tour guide from April to November in addition to my translation work.  I love cooking, dancing, reading, traveling, and improv comedy.  Because my "work from home" life allows for traveling, I like to get some traveling in during the touring "off-season" (i.e., December-March), whether that's traveling to several different places, or living in one place for an extended period of time.


Contact this member

Profile ID number: 352
Listed by: Hillary
To be able to contact Hillary you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!