Click image to start the slideshow!

  • Our village
Country: France Suburb/Town: Midi-Pyrenees City: near Castillon-en-Couserans State/Province/Region: Ariege Type of home: House Located: in a village Bedrooms: 3 Bathrooms: 2 Sleeps: 6
Our home:

We are a French-American family looking for a houseswap in Santa Cruz for our recently purchased old stone village house in Ariege, midi-Pyrenees. Our house is fully modern with the charm of a centuries-old house. An interesting fact is that around the turn of the last century our house was owned by a local bear trainer, hence the name "L'Oursaterro"! Our house has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, kitchen, and a large terrace off of living room with views of the surrounding countryside and mountain peaks. We also have two cats that will need a bit of TLC while folks are staying at our place.

Home amenities

  • BBQ,
  • Balcony,
  • Bath,
  • Bicycle,
  • Cable/Satellite TV,
  • Clothes Washer/Dryer,
  • Dishwasher,
  • Fans,
  • Garden-Yard,
  • Heating,
  • Internet Access,
  • Microwave,
  • Patio/Deck,
  • Sound system
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

Our village is a mountain village of only about 70 permanent residents, and our house provides superb views of Pyreneen mountain peaks. There are plenty of beautiful hikes and bike rides that leave from our village. One of the most fantastic outdoor farmer's markets occurs every Saturday in nearby Saint Girons. There are also several Cathar castle ruins and medieval towns within an hour drive, as well as caves with prehistoric paintings.

Local Activities

  • Biking,
  • Cafes,
  • Fishing,
  • Hiking,
  • Historical Sites,
  • Parks,
  • Rafting,
  • Restaurants,
  • River,
  • Rock Climbing,
  • Shopping

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous Preferred start date: November 1 Length of Swap: 1 month Preferred destinations: Santa Cruz, California Open to offers?: yes Number of travellers: 4 Languages spoken: English, French, Spanish
About us:

We both formerly lived in the Santa Cruz area for 8 years while pursuing our doctorate degrees in Ecology. My husband is scheduled to spend about 1 month doing research at UCSC this fall, and we need to find a a place to accommodate our family (2 adults, 2 small children) during this time. Unfortunately, my husband does not have funding to cover our rent in Santa Cruz, and we definitely can't afford to pay for two places simultaneously! This is one reason why we have decided to look into house-swapping (not to mention the fact that where we live in France is a wonderful place for folks to come to for a vacation!)


Contact this member

Profile ID number: 177
Listed by: Amy
To be able to contact Amy you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!