Countryside house with character

no photo
Country: Finland Suburb/Town: Lieksa City: Lieksa State/Province/Region: Eastern Finland Type of home: House Located: in the country Bedrooms: 3 Bathrooms: 1 Sleeps: 5
Our home:

We have a big country house built from big logs in the thirties. It is FAR  from a polished modern town house, most of what you inside is unpainted wood.

The size of the house is 16 x 10 metres (46 ft by 13 ft) with three floors and A LOT of space. The sitting room is about 6m x 9m (20ft x 30 ft) in size. There is a bedroom downstairs, a bed in the sitting room and another big bedroom upstairs so five people can be accommodated without any problems. It is, however, possible to accommodate a couple of extra persons if needed.

Most of the furniture has been acquired from second hand shops and they have... character as well :)

You can scan dozens of art books we have and should you need to use the internet we have a high-speed 100 Mbps optical cable with unrestricted data. You will be able to use your own laptop with the help of the WiFi.

Smoking outside only; we are non-smokers.

Home amenities

  • Clothes Washer/Dryer,
  • Computer,
  • Dishwasher,
  • Garden-Yard,
  • Heating,
  • Internet Access,
  • Microwave,
  • TV/DVD
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

First of all: You will need a car, definitely. The town and all shops are 20 km from hour house. Also, using a car you can access some nice parts of our neighbourhood. 

This is a small village with houses situated far from each other. Our next-door neighbour lives about one kilometre from our house. The last leg of the road (6 km) is gravel road (unpaved). If you search for Sarkkila, Lieksa in Google Maps or Bing maps and have a look at the satellite view (or Aerial view in Bing) you will get an idea about the surroundings.

There are dozens of small lakes in the area as well as lots of rivers. Lake Pielinen, a big lake, is just half a mile from where we live.

Driving around the Lake Pielinen you can climb our national hill Koli and admire the view over the big lake.

TODO We will add some photos later.

Local Activities

  • Biking,
  • Boating,
  • Canoeing,
  • Fishing,
  • Hiking,
  • Horse Racing,
  • Lake,
  • Museum,
  • Public Library,
  • River

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous Preferred start date: Any Length of Swap: A week or more Preferred destinations: United Kingdom Open to offers?: yes

Other preferences

  • Car swap negotiable,
  • Pets ok
Number of travellers: 2 Languages spoken: English, French, German, Swedish, Finnish
About us:

We are a couple in our late 50s, non-smokers.

My wife Riitta is an artist/ceramicist and a freelance translator. She speaks English, French, German, Swedish and some Italian/Spanish/Portuguese.

I am an IT professional with a background in linguistics. I speak English and Swedish fluently and do some German as well.

Apart from Finland we have lived in Scotland, Wales and Ireland for almost three years and all over in Finland including  Northern Lapland.

We prefer a longer swap period and a countryside location but will by no means reject a town/city swap location. Should you have pets to look after at home we would be delighted to take care of them as well.


Contact this member

Profile ID number: 645
Listed by: Markku
To be able to contact Markku you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!