Click image for larger picture!

Country: Australia Suburb/Town: Mittagong City: Southern Highlands State/Province/Region: New South Wales Type of home: House Located: in the suburbs Bedrooms: 3 Bathrooms: 2 Sleeps: 5
Our home:

A weather board cottage  with a large timber deck, situated on 1/2 acre of garden/bush. It has become a retreat for numerous species of  birds including Tawney  Frog mouths , Kookaburras, King Parrots, Rosellas as well as blue tongues, frogs and brushtail possums  . None of these are a problem unless you leave your meat on he BBQ or your fruit on the outside table. Then it is a case of first in , first served.

Our home is equipped with fans, ducted gas heating, open fireplace, flat screen TV and DVD player , gas hot pates, electric oven, microwave, washing machine and bath ,  BBQ and  a Webber outdoor oven. The floors are timber with carpeted bedrooms. At this stage there is no car accommodation.   Well behaved pets are welcome as long as the wild life is not threatened  , however the property is not fenced. There is no wheelchair access. Non smoking.

Home amenities

  • BBQ,
  • Bath,
  • Dishwasher,
  • Fans,
  • Fireplace,
  • Garden-Yard,
  • Heating,
  • Microwave,
  • Patio/Deck,
  • TV/DVD
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

Our home is a 5 minute walk to  the main small shopping centre and a ten minute walk to Lake Alexandra where you will find a great childrens play area, BBQs  and picnic tables , a cycle path and a great collection of water birds. Hop in the car and you are within easy driving distance to 5 golf courses,  14 wineries ,  numerous art galleries and more cafes and resturaunts than I can count. Nearby towns and villages include Bowral , Moss Vale, Bundanoon , Exeter and historic Berrima .  If lucky you may catch a play at the Mittagong  Playhouse or a 'Concert on the Green".

There are Farmers markets each weekend at one of these villages.

Local Activities

  • Art Gallery,
  • Biking,
  • Cafes,
  • Cinema,
  • Fishing,
  • Golf,
  • Gymnasium,
  • Hiking,
  • Historical Sites,
  • Kids Activities,
  • Lake,
  • Lawn Bowling,
  • Museum,
  • Parks,
  • Playing Fields,
  • Public Library,
  • Public Transport,
  • Pubs Clubs,
  • Restaurants,
  • River,
  • Shopping,
  • Swimming Pool,
  • Ten Pin Bowling,
  • Waterfalls

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous and non simultaneous ok Preferred start date: 23 December 2011 Length of Swap: 1 week or longer Preferred destinations: Northern Beaches, Sydney Open to offers?: yes

Other preferences

  • Car swap negotiable,
  • Couple preferred,
  • Family preferred,
  • Pets ok,
  • Seniors preferred
Number of travellers: 4 adults, 1 child aged 8. Languages spoken: English
About us:

My husband is an engineer currently working in WA. and I am working in health in the Southern Highlands. We are very environmentally conscious so we have made our little part of Australia as pristine  and clean as we can so the wild life can enjoy their existence so we in turn can enjoy them. We do not have any pets at present as I do a lot of trips away .We love to travel as we  have a daughter who lives in Seattle, WA. USA. We also have 2 boys who live in Australia with their families.

We do a lot of outdoor activities , Bush walking, swimming, skiing , cycling and golfing when we get the chance.


Contact this member

Profile ID number: 190
Listed by: Lorraine
To be able to contact Lorraine you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!