Apartment in City Centre Sheffield - Gateway to the Peak District!

Click image to start the slideshow!

  • The Peace Gardens
Country: United Kingdom Suburb/Town: Sheffield City: Sheffield State/Province/Region: South Yorkshire Type of home: Apartment Located: in the city Bedrooms: 1 Double 1 Single Bathrooms: 1 Sleeps: 2 Adults 1 Child
Our home:

We have a beautiful apartment in the very centre of the city, right on the high street and with a beautiful view of the Town Hall. The area has undergone major reconstruction in the last decade and the apartment, a converted Water Board property, sits within the urban landscape of modern high risers and older, listed buildings.

The living room has the 'wow' factor on account of its size and high ceilings. The kitchen is modern but compact, though all the amenities are squeezed in! The breakfast bar divides the living area from the kitchen but this room is essentially open plan.

The Single bedroom is used currently for accommodating a chest of drawers and bookcase and wardrobe but there is a single bed which is folded into the wall which I can pull out in advance of your stay if it is required. The Double room comprises double bed, chest of drawers and fitted wardrobe. Both the bedrooms are compact but the living space more than makes up for this!

The bathroom is modern, clean and with bath plus shower.

Entrance to the apartment block is by key fob/buzzer system and so security is high. The neighbours are wonderfully friendly and always say hello when passing! The crowning jewel of the block is the elevator; the oldest working lift in South Yorkshire it is stunning - you have to see it to believe it!

Home amenities

  • Bath,
  • Cable/Satellite TV,
  • Clothes Washer/Dryer,
  • Dishwasher,
  • Heating,
  • Internet Access,
  • Lift/elevator,
  • Microwave,
  • Security/Doorman,
  • TV/DVD
Go to street view!
Our neighborhood:

The apartment couldn't be better placed to experience the full compliment of city centre amenities; bars, restaurants, cafes, theatres, cinemas, shops, libraries... Anything you could imagine are all within 5 minutes' walking distance from home. Public transport lines are all on the doorstep too; the bus and train station are 7-10 minutes walk away, plus we have a tram line also.

South Yorkshire is known to have a very low cost of living compared with the rest of the UK and that is true of Sheffield. This is a good choice for either those who want to have absolute luxury, or those on a tight budget (I will provide good tips and discount vouchers for all restaurants etc in the surrounding area)

The city centre constituency is led by the Green Party - key focuses are recycling, maintaining bar licensing standards and increasing community involvement. In summary, this is a good place to live! The apartment is not on a stretch of road with any bars (they start on the street parallel) and so there is very little noise pollution after the office workers have gone home at 7 pm!

Sheffield City Council is extremely good at hosting weekend cultural  festivals in the summer; Tramlines is a free music festival, plus there is Chance to Dance, The Forces Memorial event and many others. These are often partly hosted in the Peace Gardens; a public green area directly outside the apartment!

Sheffield is known as the gateway to the Peak District, and keen (or novice!) hikers, ramblers, mountain-bikers, rock climbers, etc can be in the countryside within 30 minutes by public transport. I can provide a full list of buses, walks, campsites, outdoor activity centres, etc definitely worth a visit. I will also leave my camping equipment which you are very welcome to borrow and make the most of the English countryside.

Trains to Manchester, Leeds and London are regular and the journeys are 45 minutes, 45 minutes and 2 hours 20 minutes respectively.

Local Activities

  • Art Gallery,
  • Ballooning,
  • Biking,
  • Cafes,
  • Cinema,
  • Golf,
  • Gymnasium,
  • Hiking,
  • Historical Sites,
  • Ice Skating,
  • Kids Activities,
  • Lawn Bowling,
  • Museum,
  • Night Clubs,
  • Parks,
  • Playing Fields,
  • Public Library,
  • Public Transport,
  • Pubs Clubs,
  • Restaurants,
  • Rock Climbing,
  • Shopping,
  • Swimming Pool,
  • Ten Pin Bowling,
  • Tennis

Our Houseswap preferences

Swap type: Simultaneous Preferred start date: End of July/Start of August 2011 Length of Swap: 4 - 5 Weeks Preferred destinations: Anywhere on a cheap flight route from the UK! Open to offers?: yes

Other preferences

  • No pets,
  • Non smokers only
Number of travellers: 1 Adult 1 (very well-behaved) Child Languages spoken: English and French (poorly!)
About us:

I am a 28 year old female and I work for the NHS as an administrator. I will start Medical School in October, which I am very excited about!

My daughter is 5 years old and, although I am biased, she is extremely well-behaved and very interested in travel. We lived in Holland for 3 months in 2009 and got a huge amount from the experience.

We are interested in house-swapping not just for the financial savings but primarily for the chance of experiencing different cultural and familial habits. We'd like to offer our home to people who have the same ethos and who will enjoy the benefits of city centre living compared with the great outdoors!


Contact this member

Profile ID number: 205
Listed by: Kate
To be able to contact Kate you need to be a member, be logged in and have submitted your own house swap profile. Member login

Not a member yet? Membership is free. Join us now, register here!